Seminars


Fabio Vito

(OAS)

30 May 2024, 11:30, Aula Jappelli 



Fast SMBH growth in gas-rich proto-clusters at high redshift



Environment is one of the main physical drivers of galaxy evolution. The densest regions at high-redshift, i.e. z>2 protoclusters, are gas-rich regions characterized by high star-formation activity. The same physical properties that enhance star formation are also thought to boost the growth of supermassive black holes, likely in heavily obscured conditions. X-ray observations are ideal tools to identify AGN in the structures, even accreting in heavily obscured conditions, and probe that scenario. I will discuss recent results obtained via X-ray observations of z=4 gas-rich protoclusters, namely SPT2349-56 and DRC. In particular, we found that the triggering of luminous AGN in these structures is boosted by 3-5 orders of magnitudes in these structures with respect to the field environemnt, proving the existence of a tight physical link between dense environment, the availability of gas reservoirs, and SMBH growth. Such luminous AGN represent the period of fast SMBH growth required to explain the presence of 1e9-1e10 Msun SMBHs in the central galaxies of local clusters.

 

Join Zoom Meeting

https://unipd.zoom.us/j/85273198731?pwd=V1ZiNE9ZWUN4ZTdIUzJsTFo0Z3U2Zz09

Meeting ID: 852 7319 8731

Passcode: 208186





----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Next scheduled seminars:

June 6th - Giovanni Sabatini (INAF/Arcetri)

June 12th - Jae-Woo Lee

June 20th - Emanuele Ventura

and many more! 



Seminar Task Force: Elisabetta Rigliaco (elisabetta.rigliaco@inaf.itJoel Beccarelli (joel.beccarelli@inaf.it)Domenico Barbato (domenico.barbato@inaf.it)Elena Carolo (elena.carolo@inaf.itPaolo Cassata(paolo.cassata@unipd.it)Gabriele Columba (gabriele.columba@phd.unipd.it)Eric Giunchi (eric.giunchi@inaf.it)Alessandro Ignesti (alessandro.ignesti@inaf.it) Antonino Marasco (antonino.marasco@inaf.it)Filippo Tusberti (filippo.tusberti@inaf.it)Anita Zanella (anita.zanella@inaf.it)